Press Releases

Larsen, Colleagues Back Flood Aid for Snohomish, King Counties

Washington, DC, December 20, 2007

Today, U.S. Rep. Rick Larsen and members of the Washington delegation sent a letter to President Bush urging him to quickly approve individual federal assistance requested by Governor Chris Gregoire for Snohomish and King Counties. In addition to Larsen, Senators Patty Murray (D-WA) and Maria Cantwell and Representatives Jay Inslee (D-WA-01), Jim McDermott (D-WA-07) and Dave Reichert (R-WA-08) signed the letter.

The text of the letter follows:

December 20, 2007

President George W. Bush The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, DC 20500

Dear Mr. President:

We write to respectfully request your full support of Washington state Governor Chris Gregoire's request for King County and Snohomish County to be added to FEMA disaster 1734 (DR-1734) for Individual Assistance. This action will allow victims of the December storms to begin receiving federal assistance.

As you know, King and Snohomish Counties were declared for Public Assistance on December 19, 2007. In addition to the significant damage to public infrastructure and facilities, each county also received a large amount of damage to private property. Homes, businesses and farms in these two counties were all severely damaged.

This flood event was dramatically different from previous flooding events in that it affected residents who are simply not accustomed to flood disasters. The damages in King and Snohomish Counties are significantly concentrated, impact special populations (low-income residents and seniors), and are placing substantial emotional strain on victims.

In order to help those affected, we request your immediate attention and action to ensure adequate federal assistance is available to those who have suffered. We urge you to work with King County and Snohomish County to provide appropriate relief.

Thank you for your consideration to the needs of our constituents affected by this disaster.

Sens. Patty Murray and Maria Cantwell, Reps. Rick Larsen, Jay Inslee, Jim McDermott, and David Reichert

Cc: Administrator of the Federal Emergency Management Agency R. David Paulison;
FEMA Region X Director Susan Reinertson; Washington state Governor Chris Gregoire.